Two Songs

“When I look at the stars I feel like myself.”

– Switchfoot

I always like to share songs that I particularly like with other people.  So today I bring you two which have been particularly stuck in my head recently in the hopes that you will enjoy them too.

Within the past month, I did something I’ve never done before.  I purchased two songs to listen to from the internet.  I don’t like the idea in general; I like having physical backup copies of things.  But the fact that I wasn’t stunned by what I’d heard of the rest of the songs on their respective albums and that I really liked these two convinced me to do so.

One of them is from Jars of Clay, as you all likely know, my favorite band (sort of).  The song is Two Hands, and what I like about it is that it’s catchy, and the lyrics resonate with me.  I mean, I think we must all have those times when you really want to do everything possible to glorify God, but feel like you’re just too broken to do so.  Like you’re your own worst enemy.  Yet the song is fairly upbeat, perhaps suggesting hope.

So it got hopelessly stuck in my head, but a few days before that, the song on nonstop repeat in my brain was Stars, by my latest library discovery, Switchfoot.  The themes of the two songs overlap slightly, but Switchfoot points out the stars.  When it’s night and we’ve lost our way (I’m being metaphorical here, people, bear with me) the stars are still shining.  We just have to look up.

It’ll do neither you nor me any good to keep talking about them rather than listening to them, so I’ll put links to both below.  But before I do, I want to ask you, dear reader, a question.  When was the last time you looked at the stars?  Not just glanced at them, or noticed them in passing, but really, seriously stared at them for more than a minute?  I know for a fact that whenever I do, I am so much the better for it.  The longer you stare, the more peaceful you feel.

To quote I Calvin and Hobbes comic I’ve seen floating around the internet, “If people sat outside and looked at the stars each night, I bet they’d live a lot differently.”

So if it’s been a while, try it.  And if you think I’m too much of a stargazer, tell me.  Sometimes I think I am too.

But they are so beautiful.

.

 

http://dft.ba/-this_is_the_mystery

3 thoughts on “Two Songs

What say you, friend?

