Congratulatory Cookies and a Vocabulary Lesson

Today I have to begin by congratulating two sets of people I feel obliged to congratulate.

The first are the youth who were confirmed at my church yesterday.  May the Holy Spirit guide and inspire them always.

The second are the members of my Venturing Crew who were awarded the Pope Pius XII religious medal we have been working towards.  (Except, that includes congratulating myself, which sounds kind of egotistical, but never mind.)

There was a lot of congratulatory cake involved in these events, but let’s turn instead to cookies since I owe you all a quote of the week:

Sometimes me think what is love, and then me think love is what last cookie is for.  Me give up the last cookie for you.

– Cookie Monster

I couldn’t verify where this quote is from, but it definitely sounds like Cookie Monster.  He knows we give up things for people we love.

BUT, there is something else I have had on my mind ever since I saw it.  There are lots of word in the English language we hardly ever use any more.  However, there are some that I think should be used more often, frolic and erstwhile being the two I like to point out.  They’re both great words, but none of them made me want to laugh just speaking them as this word I found today:

Snollygoster

snol·ly·gos·ter (n.) – a clever, unscrupulous person.

Snollygoster.  Is it not an amazingly funny word?  It sounds like a made up insult.  “Ah, you’re just a low-down good-for-nothing snollygoster.”

But it’s not made up.  And I, for one, think it should be used more often.  Erstwhile it was forgotten, but now no snollygoster shall go un-hunted as we frolic throughout the land, hunting snollygosters and the mullock with which they would taint the starrified welkin of civilization.

God bless you all, and don’t forget to be awesome.

What say you, friend?

