Six easy ways to improve NaNoWriMo

I’m not the reblogging sort for the most part. But every now and then I come across something that just really deserves to be shared.

I thought about doing NaNoWriMo this year, but I never really planned for it much, and the next thing I knew it was November 3 and I thought to myself, ” Oh, yeah. That…” No hope now. Perhaps there would have been, if I’d read this sooner.

All the points Guy Bergstrom makes in this post make a ton of sense, and as a professional Speech Writer Guy, he should know. So to all my dear readers who have ever done, are doing, or have thought about doing NaNoWriMo, I say unto you: read this. Maybe I’ll do it in June, or some later date when I actually have time…

The Red Pen of Doom

Writer peeps tell me they’re doing NaNoWriMo, which is Esperanto for “I’m trying to write a novel in a single month, and I’m 10k behind already, so I’ve quit my job and divorced my husband. I vaguely remember that we had some kids. Ready for a sprint?”

God bless all who sign up for this. I believe a novel is the toughest thing a writer can tackle, and the most rewarding.

It’s just that 30 days is a bit insane, and I say that as somebody who writes insanely fast. Related post: Why are all writers lazy bums?

If a friend of mine said they were doing NaNoWriMo, I’d want them to have a good experience and not pull their hair out because they missed two days of writing at that wedding and now they need to write 3,000 words a day and IT’S NOT HAPPENING.

It’s great that there’s a…

View original post 1,558 more words

What say you, friend?

