In a Galaxy Far, Far Away… There Was Cranberry Sauce

I’m just a little bit VERY EXCITED right now, and I’ll tell you why in a minute.  But first, I figured if I’m gonna post something so close to Thanksgiving, I’m kind of obliged to say something about it.

So yeah.  There was food!  There was family!  It was awesome!  There was conversation, and laughter, and pictures, and candlelight.  There was a football game (which I mostly ignored.  I’m not a huge football fan, but I’ve been well enough instructed to wonder how in the world I was supposed to choose between wanting the Eagles to lose and wanting the Cowboys to lose, so I didn’t pay much attention.)  There was a warm fire.  And there was thankfulness.

I am indeed truly thankful for all the gifts God has granted me and my family, granted all of us.  Granted the UNIVERSE.  The mystery of His profound love for us, despite our myriad imperfections.  For the hope He inspires, that we cling to as to a runaway rocket hurtling through the sky, causing people to swear that we are insane, or that they are hallucinating.  “What does it matter?” I shout with a laugh.  The whole world is insane!  Can’t you see?  We’re hurtling through space at 67,000 miles per hour.  Our planet is a rocket of its own.  What’s not insane about that?  What keeps us from flying out of orbit and shooting across space like a spinning top?

Staring at the fire, I pondered.  I mention the abundance of food.  I mention family, and warmth, and love.  But there are people who live every day without all of these things, except perhaps an occasional glimmer of them.  On one level, this is a reason to feel all the more blessed for the opportunities we do have.  On another, it should force us to wonder how we can ever be truly at peace with our contentment while our brothers and sisters have nothing.  Nothing.  That’s not just insane.  It is an outrage.

So what do we do?  Do we give up Thanksgiving and sit around in pessimism on the fourth Thursday of each November.  No!  The essence of Thanksgiving should be something we keep foremost in our minds.  It is a paradox.  We have so much.  So much opportunity.  So much potential.  At the same time, we are not promised any of it for another minute.  Tomorrow is not promised; we must make today a masterpiece.

And this must naturally include rededicating ourselves constantly to serving those around us to the best of our ability.  To lift our comrades out of the mires of poverty and war and the dungeons of skepticism and despair, and allow ourselves to be lifted from our own stumbling blocks.  Not because we are ivory tower saviors, but because we are a purpose and a cause, an army and a band of revelers.  We can do nothing alone.  We can do so much together.  You can call me a fool for believing good and justice will triumph at the end of time.  Fine.  I am a fool.  I am an optimist.  I have not the courage to believe in nothing, as the Man of La Mancha says, but I have the strength to keep faith in Something.  Let us fly across the night sky, a flaming rocket, a band of poets.  I cannot claim any certainty, but if we are wrong, at least we will have had the honor of believing the most fantastical thing that was ever believed in.

Anyway, got a little carried away there.  Most of the inspiration came from Chesterton, whom I rather shamelessly imitated here… I’ve been reading a lot of him lately.

So anyway, now that I’ve rambled for 600 words, what is it I’m so excited about?  I maintain some skepticism about what Disney will do now that this is in their hands… and it is the first one in ten years… and the trailer doesn’t really tell us much…

But no, I’m pretty freaking excited right now.  THE FIRST TEASER TRAILER FOR STAR WARS EPISODE VII IS HERE!!!  *incredibly loud dramatic organ music* *screaming of the 10 million people who have watched the trailer already*

Happy post-Thanksgiving to you all!  I guess I can stop glaring at the people one street over who have had their Christmas lights up since before Halloween now…

12 thoughts on “In a Galaxy Far, Far Away… There Was Cranberry Sauce

    1. Probably. 🙂 You smile at me like that… are you not excited?
      Thank you! It means a lot to hear you say that. The humor just sort of gets mixed in… hopefully it adds rather than taking away. Faith is such an amazing blessing. Heaven knows where I’d be without it.

      Like

      1. I feel like I should have known this…
        … But according to Wikipedia, Yoda died in Return of the Jedi. Which isn’t to say his ghost might not be in it. Who knows. Maybe Jarjar will be in it too!
        I need to watch I-VI again.

        Like

What say you, friend?

