2014: Through the Lens

Every January, I open up the nominally organized Pictures folder on my computer, sift through all the photos I’ve taken in the year past, and pick out my favorites.

This year I have a blog.  So I thought I’d share them with you all, in the hopes that you might enjoy them too.  There were less good ones than there were in 2013 I think, but that is partly because I took less photos I think.  So make yourself a nice cup of tea and enjoy.  Unless you plan on going sledding, in which case, you must go immediately.  Forget the Window Philosopher.  (Here’s praying if you’ve got too much snow, that some of it will move on to those who haven’t any and wish they had.  And a little bit for me too, pretty please.  The backyard looks magical right now, but there’s not quite enough for sledding.)

Anyways:

(All photos © 2014.  The author grants permission to download for personal use only.)

Sister and Molly looking out at the lake.
Sister and Molly looking out at the lake. (Jan. 1)
Roscoe, covered in snow and looking quite pitiful indeed.
Roscoe, covered in snow and looking quite pitiful indeed. (Feb. 12)
Sign in a restaurant one town over.  Made me smile.
Sign in a restaurant one town over. Made me smile. (April 5)
Jar of Hershey's Kisses for my piano student.  My teacher has one on her piano, so I found a nice-looking jar in the cabinet, made a band to go around it, and voila!
Jar of Hershey’s Kisses for my piano student. My teacher has one on her piano, so I found a nice-looking jar in the cabinet, made a band to go around it, and voila! (May 6)
Pig in a dress in a stroller.  Your argument is invalid.
Pig in a dress in a stroller. Your argument is invalid. (June 7)
Molly on the bed, looking sheepish.
Molly on the bed, looking sheepish. (July 23)
For this one I used the color swap filter on my camera.  Thought it turned out kinda cool.
For this one I used the color swap filter on my camera. Thought it turned out kinda cool. (July 28)
Sunflowers!  You may remember them from this post.
Sunflowers! You may remember them from this post. (July 30)
Graveyard near my house.
Graveyard near my house. (Aug. 17)
Same graveyard.  Some more fun with color filters.
Same graveyard. Some more fun with color filters. (Aug. 17)
Ah yes... the lovely sight of fresh-made Tom Sauce.
Ah yes… the lovely sight of fresh-made Tom Sauce.  May he rest in peace. (Sept. 12)
Ducklings at the county fair.  Aren't they just SO CUTE??
Ducklings at the county fair. Aren’t they just SO CUTE?? (Sept. 13)
A friend's puppy, Heidi.  Also SO CUTE.  And she still is, but she's grown like a weed since this was taken.
A friend’s puppy, Heidi. Also SO CUTE. And she still is, but she’s grown like a weed since this was taken. (Oct. 2)
Artsy shot of a chandelier at the auditorium where my sister sang with the symphony this fall.
Artsy shot of a chandelier at the auditorium where my sister sang with the symphony this fall. (Oct. 11)
Artsy shot of a candle casting a neat shadow on the wall.
Artsy shot of a candle casting a neat shadow on the wall. (Nov. 17)
Another candle... alone to the right of the frame.
Another candle… alone to the right of the frame. (Nov. 17)
From the Thanksgiving photoshoot.  Wine glasses and mashed potatoes.
From the Thanksgiving photo shoot. Wine glasses and mashed potatoes. (Nov. 27)
Another shot from Thanksgiving.  Candles and the ceiling.
Another shot from Thanksgiving. Candles and the ceiling. (Nov. 27)
For that one moment, Molly was posed perfectly...  At the dog park as the sun began to set.
For that one moment, Molly was posed perfectly… At the dog park as the sun began to set. (Dec. 12)
Matilda discovered sun spots this Christmas vacation... and deemed them good and wonderful.
Matilda discovered sun spots this Christmas vacation… and deemed them good and wonderful. (Dec. 30)

That’s all, folks.  Have a good night.  And never forget what an incredibly beautiful person you are, and how incredibly blessed we are to be alive.  It’s hard to remember, but it bears remembering.

DFTBA!  Peace!

9 thoughts on “2014: Through the Lens

What say you, friend?

