Pathways

Cracks in the sidewalk grin
Surfaced like a shell
Beating the lifeblood of a city
Across your freckled soul

What is a sidewalk but a
Slantwise fable of crooked roads
A path so straight my boots slide
Down into the cracks and grimace
At the comfort and inertia

Sapling roots its way to freedom
A miracle amidst the loose gravel
And a warning to me: you are not
A sapling, my love. You are
The sun that hits me as I pass
Between brick wall redwoods
You are a downpour beating across
The windows and running through
The sidewalk cracks to find the sea

A city sheds its skin and calls
My weary feet to search this Georgia mountain
‘Til I find the glimmer of its Christmas lights
Its storefronts and streetlamps
A front porch with a spare key
And a peaceful endurance
As miles stretch behind us
And marathons ahead

(21 December 2016, edited 2 July 2017)

File Jul 02, 3 44 41 PM
Sunset along W. Main Street in my hometown.  Guess the time of year from the ghost decorations?

It’s a strange feeling to invent a title for a months-old poem just to avoid the shame of naming it something like “Another Poem I Wrote Months Ago”.  But let’s just pretend it was always a part of the whole.

After all, for better or for worse, we humans are quite skilled at pretending.  Which is why it is always the duty and the struggle of the mind to sift through the illusions of the workaday world in search of truth.  Countless ways of achieving this have been proposed up and down the centuries.  But I rather think it benefits particularly to heed Christ’s teaching when he says, “If you continue in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth” (John 8:31-32).  “And the truth will make you free,” He says next, lest anyone should wonder why truth is important.

One might still ask what it is we’re being freed from, and to them I would say… just read John chapter 8.  It’s worth it, I promise you.  (Okay, short answer, it’s sin, but there’s lots and lots to ponder in that chapter, and I encourage you to read it.  Good good stuff.)

Happy Sunday to you all.  God is good, and never ceases to bless His Creation, and I pray you may continue to live in His truth by the strength of His grace.  🙂

Pax vobiscum.

What say you, friend?

